Open hearing aids

Speaker(s) : Marie-Pierre Matthieu Berjon

  • Language : Français
  • Level : Newbie
  • Nature : Conference
  • Date : Monday 6 July 2015
  • Schedule : 14h00
  • Duration : 40 minutes
  • Place : 126

Video : https://rmll.ubicast.tv/permalink/v1253b4564cf9aaoo50e

Threads : Accessibility

The number of people with an hearing impairement increases with years (age, intensive use of headphone for work and leisure, ...) et reach a larger population.

Hearing aids, although at a technical edge, suffer from systematic issues such as the high price or the requirement to see an hearing aid specialist to tune their aid. Thus, they answer only a small part of the issue as shown by the small amount of people using them.

This presentation aims to review the hearing impairement situation and their impact on the day to day life. In a second part, we will discuss the issues of hearing aids sold on the market et see what could be the contribution of the open hardware and software on that matter. Finally, we will present the project called Ears Wide Open that aims to address these questions.

Marie-Pierre , Matthieu Berjon
Marie-Pierre Bijon is a company works doctor. She is the at the origin of the project "Audition et logiciels libres" (hearing and open software) within the Liberté0 association who campaigns for the development of an open and accessible tools and softwares.

Matthieu Berjon is an audio engineer who founded the project Ears Wide Open.

Slides (PDF - 389.7 kb)
Slides (OpenDocument Presentation - 1.9 Mb)

Les aides auditives libres

Intervenant(s) : Marie-Pierre Matthieu Berjon

  • Langue : Français
  • Niveau : Débutant
  • Type d'événement : Conférence
  • Date : Lundi 6 juillet 2015
  • Horaire : 14h00
  • Durée : 40 minutes
  • Lieu : 126

Vidéo : https://rmll.ubicast.tv/permalink/v1253b4564cf9aaoo50e

Fils rouges : Accessibilité

Le nombre de personnes ayant une déficience auditive augmente au fil des années (âge, utilisation intensive du casque pour le travail et le loisir, ...) et touche une population de plus en plus large.

Les appareils auditifs quant à eux, bien qu’ayant bénéficié d’évolutions techniques, souffrent toujours des mêmes problèmes comme leur prix d’achat élevé ou encore l’obligation de passer par un audioprothésiste pour les réglages. Ils ne répondent qu’en partie aux besoins de la population comme en témoigne le faible taux d’équipement.

Cette présentation vise à faire le point sur les problèmes de surdité et leur impact sur la vie de tous les jours. Dans un deuxième temps, nous discuterons des problèmes des appareils auditifs du marché et ce que peux apporter le logiciel et matériel libre. Enfin, nous présenterons le projet Ears Wide Open qui cherche à amener une solution aux questions soulevées.

Marie-Pierre , Matthieu Berjon
Marie-Pierre Bijon est médecin du travail, à l’origine du projet "Audition et logiciels libres" au sein de l’association Liberté0 pour le développement du numérique libre et accessible.

Matthieu Berjon est ingénieur dans le domaine de l’audio et à l’origine du projet Ears Wide Open.

Support (PDF - 389.7 ko)
Support (OpenDocument Presentation - 1.9 Mo)