Open Source Software and teaching of programming in primary schools (sharing of experience and problems)

Speaker(s) : Ange DE SAINT MONT

  • Language : Français
  • Level : Newbie
  • Nature : Conference
  • Date : Wednesday 8 July 2015
  • Schedule : 09h20
  • Duration : 40 minutes
  • Place : 126

Video : https://rmll.ubicast.tv/permalink/v1253b4568528jsasnak

After more than 5 years of teaching of computer science and programming languages in a private elementary school, before current educational proposals, we can share our experience.

Open Source Software: How to introduce them into the school? How to present it to the educational team? How to present it to students? How to create interdisciplinary projects using Open Source software?

Teaching programming languages: Which language to choose? From what age? How to teach in dual grade classes? How to make this teaching productive? How to integrate it into the global educational project? How far to go in teaching programming in a primary school? And high school?

Ange DE SAINT MONT
Ange de St-Mont (developer, founding member of Système LX)

After the introduction to programming (BASIC) at the age of 14, it was during his high school years abroad (Computer programming languages), he attends a conference on Linux. After graduating in 2001, he had a short stay at Microsoft (Software Development Engineer). The same year, he opened his company as an independent developer. After several years of development for the publishing industry, he is involved in Open Source projects, including for primary schools. In parallel with his development work, he taught programming for several years in elementary school, giving lectures in the Great Schools (eg. ESGI) and as part of the training of entrepreneurs (eg. PLATO Network ). In 2013, he founded the Système LX, an Open Source OS for SOHO-SME.

Slides (PDF - 2.3 Mb)
Slides (OpenDocument Presentation - 12.7 Mb)

Logiciels Open Source et enseignement de la programmation dans les écoles primaires (partage de l’expérience)

Intervenant(s) : Ange DE SAINT MONT

  • Langue : Français
  • Niveau : Débutant
  • Type d'événement : Conférence
  • Date : Mercredi 8 juillet 2015
  • Horaire : 09h20
  • Durée : 40 minutes
  • Lieu : 126

Vidéo : https://rmll.ubicast.tv/permalink/v1253b4568528jsasnak

Après plus de 5 ans d’enseignement de l’informatique et des langages de programmation dans une école primaire privée, en avance sur les propositions éducatives actuelles, nous pouvons partager notre expérience.

Logiciels Open Source : comment les introduire dans l’établissement scolaire ? Comment les présenter à l’équipe éducative ? Comment les présenter aux élèves ? Comment créer des projets interdisciplinaires en utilisant les logiciels Open Source ?
L’enseignement des langages de programmation : Quelle langage choisir ? À partir de quel âge ? Comment l’enseigner dans les classes à double niveaux ? Comment rendre cet enseignement productif ? Comment l’intégrer dans le projet éducatif global ?

Jusqu’où aller dans l’enseignement de la programmation dans une école primaire ? Et au collège ?

Ange DE SAINT MONT
Ange de St-Mont (développeur, membre fondateur de Système LX)

Après l’initiation à la programmation (BASIC) dès l’âge de 14 ans, c’est à l’occasion de ses études secondaires à l’étranger (Computer programming languages), qu’il assiste à une conférence sur Linux. Diplômé en 2001, il fait un court séjour chez Microsoft (Software Development Engineer). La même année, il ouvre sa société en tant que développeur indépendant. Après plusieurs années de développement pour l’industrie du livre, il s’implique dans les projets Open Source, notamment pour les écoles primaires. En parallèle de ses travaux de développement, il enseigne depuis plusieurs années la programmation à l’école primaire, donne des conférences dans les Grandes Écoles (ex. ESGI) et dans le cadre de la formation des chefs d’entreprises (ex. Réseau PLATO). En 2013, il a fondé le Système LX, un OS Open Source pour les TPE-PME.

Support (PDF - 2.3 Mo)
Support (OpenDocument Presentation - 12.7 Mo)