Toward a new production flow for animated movies : free, united, ethical and ecological

Speaker(s) : Virginie Guilminot Flavio Perez Paul Benoit

  • Language : Français
  • Level : Newbie
  • Nature : Conference
  • Date : Wednesday 8 July 2015
  • Schedule : 15h00
  • Duration : 60 minutes
  • Place : Amphi Bunuel

Video : https://rmll.ubicast.tv/permalink/v1253b456ec14ls97oqc

After working with big CG studios, which have become industries, the four associates of Les Fées Spéciales based their activities in the region Languedoc-Rousillon, in the South of France. The setup is a worker cooperative producing animated movies, helped by the free software Blender, recyled computers and renewable energy. Convinced that this is time to rethink the production pipeline, the encounter with Qarnot computing was a natural step towards it, sharing common values on solidarity and environment.

Qarnot computing powers Q.blender, a rendering service already used by professionals, freelance artists and hobbyists. Qarnot has put in place a disruptive render farm, rethinking data centers by breaking up the collection of servers previously centralized in energy-hungry facilities, and dispersing them into buildings in the form of Q.rad digital heaters. Computations heat all types of premises, from offices to homes, for free. On Q.blender, several hundreds of nodes can be mobilized for durations as small as one minute, to offer a fast, cheap, user-friendly and sustainable render farm.

Qarnot is the main sponsor of the Blender Foundation’s new open movie, the Gooseberry Project. More information: www.qarnot-computing.com

Les Fées Speciales, helped by Qarnot Computing can now get rid off industrial solutions, in monopoly position, and work in a cooperative way while respecting the environment. Together, Les Fées Spéciales and Qarnot computing, bet on free solutions.

Virginie Guilminot , Flavio Perez , Paul Benoit
http://les-fees-speciales.fr/#presentation
Virginie Guilminot
who has a PhD from Paris 8 University in Art and Technology of Images, has worked in Computer Graphics for 25 years. She was assitant-director on the first French CG movie in France, ‘Kaena the prophecy’ (1998-2003), and production director on the first feature film from Mac Guff, ‘Azur and Asmar’ by Michel Ocelot. Ambassador for the Imagina Festival from 92 to 98 she then took the artistic direction on the E-magician Festival for 10 years. Since 2012 she has looked for ways to introduce Blender in a production environment.
Flavio Perez
graduated from Estienne School (Paris) in animation, from Gobelins in Production Management and in Art and Technology of Images from Paris 8 University (where he now teaches.) That broad training provides him with a great overview for the technical direction of projects.
He has worked with Autour de Minuit as production assistant on a dozen of short movies (including Academy awarded Logorama). He then became a Data Manager before being Technical Director on the features ‘Despicable Me 1 and 2’ and ‘The Lorax‘ (Illumination Mac Guff). He moved to the studio ‘In Efecto’ in the South of France as main Technical Director while starting an animation group named Caravel.
Clément Pellegrini
An EPITA graduate, Clement has been working for Qarnot computing since September 2014. He is in charge of developing the interfacing between the Blender Foundation in Amsterdam and Qarnot’s renderfarm for the Open Source movie "Gooseberry Project".
Hélène Legay
has studied marketing and communication at Sciences Po Paris, and is in charge of relations between animation schools and studios on Qarnot’s 3D projects.

Vers une nouvelle chaîne de fabrication des films d’animation : libre, solidaire, éthique et écologique

Intervenant(s) : Virginie Guilminot Flavio Perez Paul Benoit

  • Langue : Français
  • Niveau : Débutant
  • Type d'événement : Conférence
  • Date : Mercredi 8 juillet 2015
  • Horaire : 15h00
  • Durée : 60 minutes
  • Lieu : Amphi Bunuel

Vidéo : https://rmll.ubicast.tv/permalink/v1253b456ec14ls97oqc

Après avoir travaillé avec de grands studios parisiens devenus industriels, les quatre associés des Fées Spéciales ont basé leur activité dans le sud de la France, en Languedoc-Roussillon : sous la forme d’une société coopérative qui produit des films d’animation, à l’aide du logiciel Blender, d’ordinateurs recyclés, et d’énergie renouvelable. Convaincus que le moment est venu de repenser la chaîne de fabrication de l’animation, la rencontre avec Qarnot computing s’est faite naturellement, sur des valeurs communes, solidaires et écologiques.

Qarnot computing propose Q.blender, un service de rendu en ligne utilisé par professionnels, artistes freelance et amateurs. Ce service fonctionne sur une ferme de rendu disruptive, véritable alternative aux data centers. Les serveurs de Qarnot ne sont pas centralisés dans des infrastructures gourmandes en énergie, mais répartis dans des bureaux et logements sous la forme de radiateurs numériques : les Q.rads. Les locaux sont ainsi chauffés gratuitement grâce aux calculs des clients de Qarnot. Q.blender offre plusieurs centaines de nœuds mobilisables à partir d’une minute, et propose un service de rendu rapide, simple d’utilisation, économique et écologique.

Qarnot est le sponsor principal du nouveau film libre de la Fondation Blender, le projet Gooseberry. Plus d’informations :
www.qarnot-computing.com

La Scop des Fées Spéciales, épaulée par Qarnot computing peut désormais s’affranchir des logiciels industriels (en position de monopole), et travailler de manière coopérative, tout en respectant l’environnement. Main dans la main, Les Fées spéciales et Qarnot computing font le pari du libre !

Virginie Guilminot , Flavio Perez , Paul Benoit
http://les-fees-speciales.fr/#presentation
Virginie Guilminot
Docteure Art & Technologies de l’Image (Paris 8), travaille depuis 25 ans dans le domaine de l’animation 3D. Elle a été assistante de réalisation sur le premier long métrage d’animation 3D en France, Kaena la prophétie (1998-2003), et directrice de production sur le premier long métrage de Mac Guff, Azur & Asmar de Michel Ocelot. Ambassadrice du Festival Imagina (1992-1998) elle assure ensuite la direction artistique du festival des e.magiciens pendant 10 éditions. Elle préside pendant 5 ans le répertoire Arts Numériques de la SCAM et s’intéresse depuis 2012 à la possibilité d’utiliser Blender dans un contexte professionnel de production audiovisuelle.
Flavio Perez
est diplômé de l’École Estienne en animation, de Gobelins en Gestion de Production et d’ Arts et Technologies de l’Image (où il enseigne à présent). Sa formation lui offre une vision globale primordiale à la direction technique des projets.
En production il collabore avec la société Autour de Minuit sur une dizaine de courts métrages (dont Logorama). Puis il intervient en tant que Directeur Technique sur les longs métrages Moi Moche et Méchant 1 & 2 et Le Lorax (Illumination Mac Guff). Il poursuit cette direction technique au studio montpelliérain In Efecto. Il fonde en parallèle le collectif Caravel.
Clément Pellegrini
Diplômé de l’EPITA, Clément travaille à Qarnot computing depuis septembre 2014. Il est en charge du développement des outils d’interfaçage entre la Fondation Blender à Amsterdam et la ferme de calcul Qarnot, pour le long métrage open-source "Gooseberry Project".
Hélène Legay
a étudié le marketing et la communication à Sciences Po Paris, et est en charge des relations avec les écoles et les studios d’animation sur les projets de Qarnot dans la 3D. `